Learning About Myself

Life is a field of daisies,

and posies.

Life is a bed of roses

and thorns.

Life is a second of happiness

and fear.

Reaching out a hand into the darkness,

I reach within myself.

What am I?

Who am I?

Slowly, I learn

while my time does burn.

The candle grows shorter

My list grows longer.

I learn about others from the shelf

and now about myself.

Time ticks by

and I fall

but I never cry

This, on me, it has befell.

I learn by looking

and thinking

at the ‘Good’s

and the ‘Should’s

at the ‘Bad’s

and the ‘Had’s.

I answer the questions

over time

But more questions

come this time.

Why am I here?

Why not there?

Reaching another hand into the darkness,

I reach within myself once again.

To hold another lantern

beside the first

and hopefully not the last

to be protected from the water in the cistern.

Leave a Reply

