Dear Friend

Dear Friend,

 

I know I am just

A small insignificant person to you.

 

I know that I am just

Another person you would walk right by or stare at like an old worn shoe.

 

I know that I am just

Nothing at all to you

 

Please don’t convince me otherwise

You told me so yourself

 

From your stares

From your mocking

From your indifference

From your everything

 

I am sure that

You will never remember me

You will never even know me

But I will know you

 

After all

Everyone does

You know that too

 

You used me

As a stepping stone

Kicking me aside

Like a pebble in your path

 

Never

Looked at me twice after

Forgot

My name everytime I started anew

 

Tell me

What was I to you

An old shoe?

 

Me?

The one who helped

you?

 

I understand that

You have dreams

You have wishes

That I cannot fulfill

 

I accept that

我能接受它

Saya boleh faham

I understand that

 

I already knew

You would already toss me aside

Once you gained power

Your craving

 

You would be remembered

You would belong

You would be invited

You would be welcomed

 

You have that wish

To feel like you belong

So does everyone else

So do I

 

How could you have forgotten?

The dreams we shared

The dream

To be remembered by someone

 

Everyone forgets

You do

I do

But nobody truly forgets

 

You are remembered

You belong

I am still standing

Here

 

Waiting for you

Out in the pouring rain

Drenched

After helping you get dry

 

As a friend

I am happy

Happy for you

But I am not

 

I am so bitter

You forgot me

Forgot us

So fast

 

I did not ever mean

Anything

To you

Did I?

 

That is what I first thought

Then I realised

You are perfectly

Normal

 

I was

Not

After all

Why would you wait for me?

 

This insignificant person

Who can never bring you anything?

We were insignificant

Found each other out of nowhere

 

I brought you somewhere

Raised you up

Trusted you

Helped you

 

But your promises went

Unfulfilled

Forgotten

Lost

 

So I stopped

I realised

You would never

Never keep your promise

 

I confronted you

I scolded you

I pleaded with you

I demanded an explanation from you

 

With all I had

In me

With all the hope I had

For you

 

‘What do my promises matter

I am already here

You are nothing

What do you matter?’

 

You told me to get

Power

All on my own

So I did

 

I was there

I was finally

Finally Qualified

To stand by your side

 

You pushed me away

And I will never forget

What you said

Those words

 

‘Nobody likes you

You were never supposed

To get this far

Stop trying’

 

‘Stop trying’

It rang

And rang

And rang

 

It never stopped

It still hasn’t

I want it stopped

It still won’t

 

Please tell me

Why?

 

You promised

All came up

Empty

Forgotten

 

Fading away

Into the darkness

 

Fading away

Away from you

 

This insignificant person

Has never held significance to you anyway

Right?

 

So this time

 

Will you remember me?

 

But perhaps

Instead of being

Useless

Unliked

 

Was it that I was

Uncontrollable

Uncontainable

By you

 

My flame still

Burns bright

In the rain

Unlike that wisp of yours

 

I never

Backed down

I never

Gave up

 

Not like you

Needing me

For support

Dependence

 

I know I will not

Discard people who helped me

 

I know because

I have had some power before

I know because

I have felt the pain before

 

I am not like you

So you depise me

With everything you have

With everything you know

 

You may never remember me

You may never really know me

But I know you

I understand that mind in you

 

I will stand strong

I will be remembered

I will go further than you

I will find a place I belong

 

I will do it for you

To clean your mess

To bring back the joy

You have taken from others

 

I will do it for others

My supporters

The people who trust me

To make their lives better

 

I will do it for myself

So I can ensure that

All my promises are fulfilled

So I can see people happy

 

When it comes to that time

What you would do

Would you change

For the better?

 

Will you remember me?

 

The dream we once had

To be remembered

For something good

For a great contribution

 

For our service

 

Signing off,

 

Leave a comment